RSS

You’re All My Very Best Friends!

20 Aug

This last weekend, oh my gosh! Words cannot describe!

I have never made any secret of the heights to which my fanatic nature can soar and now I have taken the next step in any good fangirl’s life. My very first con. And not just any con.

BUCK!

There has been a lot of things reported in the news in various countries around the world about the phenomenon that is the ‘Brony’ culture. Bronies have been labelled as gays, perverts, paedophiles, cult followers… you name it, we have been called it. But do you want to know what we are?

We are people who like something! So sue us!

And another thing. Bronies know how to put on a good show! BUCK 2012 – the first ever Brony UK convention was held in Manchester (or Manechester I should say) last weekend and it was the best weekend I have ever had! With vendors, game demos, craft workshops, fanfiction competitions, a charity auction, raffles all over the place and not to forget the Pony Odeon and Pinkie Pie Party! There just are not enough words to describe it!

Bronies are some of the best people I have ever had the privilege to meet and the very best thing about gathering almost 700 Bronies in one place? Spontaneous Sing-songs! No where else would you have hundreds of fully grown adults and teenagers singing the theme song to My Little Pony, out loud, on the streets of Manchester. Only at BUCK!

I can’t wait to get my photos on here! And, what’s more, I think I’m going to be very brave and have the picture of me getting a hug from Discord as my FB profile pic!!! *gasp!*

Now I’m left with an almost shell-shocked feeling as I stand at the bus stop waiting to go to work and Winter Wrap-up comes on my iPod. There will be no more bellowing along to the songs, no more throaty shouts of “YEEEAAHHHHHH!” at anything anyone cheers for, no more answering a question with a country “Ee-yup!”…. Now it is back to the grindstone in an environment where no one even knows that My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic exists. Where I am just slightly bonkers and people don’t know what a Brony is, let alone the fact that I am one.

Still, there is some fun to be had with that. I may get a Discord Model to live on my desk at work!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Good Day Rant

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
