RSS

The Mind of a Dreamer

25 Feb

Only in our dreams are we free. The rest of the time we need wages.
Terry Pratchett

This may sound very strange… but I love being asleep. Not the fact of being in bed, yeah, I know a lot of people like that… but actually being asleep. You want to know why? I’m a dreamer. I always have been and I am a member of that very lucky group that can remember their dreams after they wake up!

I remember one very clear dream that used to haunt me when I was a child. I would wake up and realise that the outside of the house was on fire. I could see the flames licking up the outside of the window casting beautiful flickering orange light across the room. I would run around the house trying to get everyone awake and I would keep on going over to the window to check and see where the fir had got to. But it never got into the house… maybe I just always woke up before it got that far.

Last night I had a similar dream. I was on my way to work on the bus when the bus went around a corner and I could see something on fire outside a building. So I did my duty and jumped off the bus pulling a few complete strangers with me and rang the fire service. After a few minutes of push 1 for this and 2 for that, I decided not to bother with them afterall and hung up before running up a flight of metal stairs to the apartments above a row of shops. Lord knows where that architecture came from… nothing like that exists in this country I don’t think… anyway. I knocked on the door of the first apartment as the other people were getting the others evacuated, and this little old lady answeres. I steped into her home and was instantly surrounded by cats. I explained the situation to her and she said she had to take her cats with her. So I helped her to very carefully box them all up.

There I was, kneeling on the floor trying to force two smallish kittens into a wicker cat carriwer that didnt have a latch and that stretched and contored with the weight of these two leggy animals inside… and I was taking my sweet time making sure I was doing it right. Didnt want to hurt the critters now did I?

I cant remember much after that… The bird song outside got too loud and woke me up just in time for my alarm… I wonder if we got out of the fire.

Analyse that why don’tcha?

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2012 in Dreams

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
